Ulrich Schnauss presents the final part in his trilogy of electronically ethereal albums. As their names – Far Away Trains Passing ByA Strangely Isolated Place and now Goodbye - suggest, his productions invoke the idea of a bleak, but worthwhile, journey. His music could be for an outing that involves the body physically moving (the ideal tape for a long car ride), or a static body allowing the mind to truly wander. Ultimately the same outcome is achieved, a deep sense of introspection initiated via a soundtrack of delicate beauty.

The first two albums were released on the small German electronica label City Centre Offices, but, as a testament to Schnauss’ success and veneration, this album has been picked up by the much larger Independiente label. His tracks have been used by luminaries such as Nick Warren and Sasha on their mix albums, and his own remixes range from Depeche Mode to Long-View – the English band for whom he has recently taken over keyboard duties. Schnauss utilizes lead singer Rob McVey on ‘’Shine’’; an eerie orchestral epic, where layered vocals melt together with cyclic drum beats to create a beautiful and emotive soundscape.

Goodbye may, at times, put you in mind of sirens drawing sailors to their downfall, but that’s not to say that this isn’t an uplifting album. The dissociated vocals are seamlessly combined with fragile chord progressions, tribal rhythms and textured electronic noise to create an album filled with optimism. The two tracks which make up the finale, ‘‘Goodbye’’ and ‘‘For Good’’, emphasise the message of the album; a valediction at the end of the journey. Hopefully there will be a reprise sometime soon and this is not goodbye, for good.

Ulrich Schnauss | Goodbye | CD

Productcode: SCREALCDX003
  • 01 Never Be The Same
    02 Shine
    03 Stars
    04 Einfeld
    05 Here Today Gone Tomorrow
    06 A Song About Hope
    07 Medusa
    08 Goodbye
    09 In Between The Years
    10 Love Forever
    11 Look At The Sky
    12 For Good

    All Songs written & produced by
    Ulrich Schnauss at Rondeel
    *except ‘Shine’ written by Schnauss & McVey
    *except ‘Love Forever’ written by Rowe & Sherriff
    *except ‘Look At The Sky’ written by Schnauss, McVey, Asselin & Lacharite
    *except ‘For Good’ written by Judith Beck

    Synthesizer, E-Mu E4, Vocals & Yamaha CP80 by Ulrich Schnauss
    *Vocals by Judith Beck
    *Guitar on ‘In Between The Years’ & ‘For Good’ by Judith Beck
    *Vocals on ‘Shine’ by Rob McVey
    *Guitar on ‘Shine’ & ‘Look At The Sky’ by Rob McVey
    *Guitar & Backing Vocals on ‘Shine’ by Doug Morch
    *Backing Vocals on ‘Shine’ by Matt Dabbs & Aidan Banks
    *Vocals on ‘Love Forever’ by Andrew Sherriff
    *Guitar on ‘Love Forever’ by Stephen Patman
    *Guitar on ‘Look At The Sky’ by Patrick Lacharite
    *Drums on ‘Look At The Sky’ by Pascal Asselin


 © www.littleuniversemusic.co.uk | Simply Better Music | All Rights Reserved

Specialist in Electronic, Ambient, Space, Progressive & Post-Rock Music

on Compact Disc, Vinyl and BluRay Disc